Share This

Board of Directors



Chairman, Represents Rensselaer County

David Stackrow is the Chairman of the CDTA Board of Directors and the CDTA Governance Committee. He has been a Board member since October 1995.

Mr. Stackrow is President/Secretary and managing partner of Scott, Stackrow and Co., CPAs, P.C. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Siena College, is an Independent Director of the Rensselaer Tobacco Asset Securitization Corporation, Trustee of the CDTA/ATU 1321 Pension Plan, Treasurer for the Challenger Learning Center of the Greater Capital Region, and he is a Past President of the LaSalle Institute Alumni Association, Past Board Chair of LaSalle Institute of Troy, New York, and a Past Grand Knight of the Rensselaer Council 267 Knights of Columbus.

Mr. Stackrow is also active in the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) where he serves a member of APTA’s Board of Directors. He is Chair, APTA Transit Board Members Committee, Chair, APTA Audit Committee, and a member of APTA’s Legislative, Diversity Council, Procurement Steering, Finance, Member Services, Human Resources, and Mid-sized Operations Committees. He is also an active member in APTA Task Forces on Member Collaboration, Member Consensus, Governance and Bylaws, Revenue, and CEO Search.  David M. Stackrow was honored with the 2009 American Public Transportation Association Outstanding Board member of the year award.

He resides in Poestenkill with his wife Karen and their two children.




Vice-Chairperson, Represents Saratoga County

Georgeanna (Georgie) Nugent was appointed to the CDTA Board in May 2009. She is the Board’s Vice Chairwoman and is a member of the board’s Governance Committee and Planning and Stakeholder Relations Committee. She received her Master of Science degree in environmental science and engineering from the Colorado School of Mines and bachelor’s degrees in environmental science and geology from SUNY Plattsburgh.

Ms. Nugent is an avid horse racing fan, partner with Epona Racing Stable and serves as a member of the New York Racing Association (NYRA) Board of Directors. She is a 2008 graduate of Leadership Saratoga, served one year on the Saratoga Springs Design Review Commission, and is actively involved with educational grant and scholarship programs for students in the STEM field.

She lives in Saratoga Springs.




Treasurer, Represents Albany County

Arthur Young Jr., appointed to the CDTA Board in October 1995, is a retired officer of Key Bank of New York after more than 49 years in banking. At the time of his retirement from Key, Mr. Young was a Senior Vice President and Manager of the bank’s Legal and Recovery Division, Secretary of the bank’s Board of Directors, President and CEO of Key Financial Services, and a Director of Key Leasing, Inc.

Mr. Young is a Trustee, Investment Officer and past President of the J.O. Wells Albany Memorial Hospital Nursing Education Foundation, Director of VNA Albany Home Health Care Corp., Director and past Governor of the Albany Colony of Mayflower Descendants, Director and Elder of the New York State Society of Mayflower Descendants, Director and Treasurer of the Capital District Pop Warner Federation, Director of the Berkshire Family History Association, Trustee Director of Capital District Genealogy society and member of the Bethlehem Historical Association Executive Committee. Mr. Young is also a life member of Junior Chamber International, American Philatelic Society, United States Swimming, Pilgrim John Holland Society, Thomas Stanton Society, and Bruce Family International Society. Mr. Young has been a Certified Swim Official for high school and college swimming for 42 years and has served as a Deck Official at four United States Olympic Trials.

Mr. Young has been the CDTA Treasurer since 1998, is a current member of the Performance Oversight Committee, past Chairman of the Performance Oversight and Stakeholder Relations Committee, a former member of the Audit committee and Chairman of the investment committee. He and his wife Anne reside in Delmar.




Secretary, Represents Rensselaer County

Joseph Spairana, Jr., appointed to the CDTA Board in December 2008, is retired from the New York State Department of Transportation with 35 years of service. At the time of his retirement, Mr. Spairana was Engineer in Charge, responsible for construction operations for major roadway and bridge improvement projects throughout the Capital Region.

Mr. Spairana serves on the Board of Directors of the Lansingburgh Boys and Girls Club and is active in their Futures and Events Committee. Mr. Spairana is a member of the Performance Oversight Committee and a former member of the Planning and Stakeholder Relations Committees.

He is a lifelong resident of Rensselaer County and lives with his family in Wynantskill.




Represents Schenectady County

Norman Miller has been a member of the CDTA Board since July 2006. Mr. Miller is president of Leadership Management of New York, Inc., a strategic development company that specializes in planning, organization and management development, executive leadership and team building. He retired from the United States Air Force with 33 years of service and serves as a member of the Schenectady Military Affairs Council.

Mr. Miller is currently the Princetown Town Judge. He is a member of the Scotia Rotary Club and a founding member of the Albany County Safe Haven organization in Altamont. Active in his community, he was a member of the Princetown Comprehensive Planning Committee. He was a member of the 1988 Olympic Bobsled Coaching Staff.

Mr. Miller is the author of “IceSpy”, an espionage novel published in 1995. Mr. Miller is a member of the CDTA Planning and Stakeholder Relations Committee.

He and his wife reside in Princetown.




Represents Albany County

Denise Figueroa joined the Board in December 2003. Ms. Figueroa is a founding member and current Executive Director of the Independent Living Center of the Hudson Valley, established in 1987.

Ms. Figueroa is a Governor appointee to the Most Integrated Setting Coordinating Council and the Justice Center Advisory Board. Former Chair of the NYS Independent Living Council and Former President of the National Council on Independent Living. Former Chair and current board member of the New York Association on Independent Living.

She holds a M.S. from the University of San Francisco and a B.A. from Brooklyn College, City University of New York. Ms. Figueroa is one of the original members of the Disabled Advisory Committee.

She currently resides in Cohoes.



Represents Albany County

Mark Schaeffer joined the Board in June 2016. Mr. Schaeffer is a retired computer professional who spent 29 years working for New York State, at the Department of Health and at the Department of Social Services. 

He is an active citizen who is concerned about issues regarding energy, sustainability, environmental health, land use and transportation, social justice and political democracy. He has been influenced by the ideas of new urbanism and transit oriented development. Mr. Schaeffer is a regular CDTA customer and uses our services frequently to travel throughout the Capital Region.

He commuted regularly to work by bus and has made a number of suggestions to improve our service network throughout the years. Mr. Schaeffer resides in Albany.



Represents Labor (Non Voting Union Member)

Corey Bixby has been a CDTA Board member since June 2014. Corey has been a Schenectady bus operator since November of 2006. 

Mr. Bixby says he was interested in the Labor Position because he wanted to be a voice for his colleagues and learn all of the different aspects of the organization. 

Corey who is originally from Corning, NY currently resides in Latham with his wife Maria and son Joseph.